“Tough Times For DPS”

So as I engaged in a family conversation with the TV on in the background, the sounds of the Local news do nothing but provide a soundtrack to the topics being discussed at my cousin’s kitchen table. Suddenly we all hear a news report so shocking; we collectively shut the fuck up and turned up the volume. Apparently the tough times at DPS just got unbelievably tougher. The Detroit Public School system is apparently so strapped for cash that they plan to INCREASE the already enormous high school class sizes, to an astonishing 60 students per class as well as discontinuing school bus transportation, which honestly was the only means of transportation to and from school for most DPS students??? THIS IS UNREAL.

What people don’t seem to realize is that it’s hard enough to get DPS to go to school in the first place, and when you incorporate the added pressure of finding reliable transportation then there is no realistic way you can honestly expect these kids to show up to school. The next issue that will be displayed on the news is the sever lack of student attendance in the massively overcrowded classrooms. The problem is obviously cyclical and it stems from a sever lack of understanding on the part of the administration. They try to solve the budget problem by making cuts that do nothing but make the problem educational problems worse. The idea behind the decisions made these professional men and women actually utterly confuse me. Do they really think that this is what the school system needs right now? I honestly don’t know, but what I do know is…

GOD NEEDS TO HELP THE KIDS!!!!

About TrueSpeech

Hello World My Name is Rydell but you can call TrueSpeech. I am a young opinionated intellectual Imported from Detroit, here to present reality according to me. I love to voice my opinion and intelligently discuss and debate differing views with others whose views I respect. I speak as much Truth as possible and as raw as I can deliver because the truth should never be overcooked. These are my thoughts, this is my opinion.....this is my world. ~WELCOME TO REALITY ~

Posted on February 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

