“Realationships” Guest Blog From MzIamChocolate

This is a Guest Blog from 1/3 of the Single  Trio Blog Crew Alicia Lynette aka MzIamChocolate. Check out her and the rest of the Blogs from the Single Trio at http://thesingletrio.wordpress.com/

First I would like to thank TrueSpeech for inviting me to do a guest post on his site. This has been months in the making but I am finally here. I am Ms. Chocolate Addiction from the SingleTrio. I have been slacking lately over there I know I’ve had a lot on my mind as well as many things on my plate but I am here now and that’s what counts! Some of you may know that many of the posts I develop deal with relationships. I know some of you guys ask “why do you always write about relationships?” Relationships to me are fascinating. Why, you ask? I always have wondered what are the ones outside of platonic friendships and such like. By this point ninety-five percent of you guys are laughing, that’s fine too because I believe at the end of the day I will have the last laugh. Anyways, everyone knows that the first friendships and seeing the adults around you are the foundations for what an intimate/romantic relationship is like. Growing up I had that along with the best friend who still says to this day “if things were different we would be together”, the first major crush and rejection, the next major crush and the guy who showed me my worth over the summer (yes, fellas step your game up). I never came close to having anyone ask me to be their girl in high school or college (I am getting ready to graduate undergrad by the way) but I didn’t come here to write a sad story.

I write about relationships to get things off my chest and to hopefully help someone else. I am always giving someone else advice, end up helping them salvage what they have but I can’t save my own self or help myself. Once again I didn’t come here to write a sad story. I write about how sadly my generation of men have come to want all the bitches, hoes, jumpoffs, bustos, wifey’s, and etc they can handle, have them spread out all across the 48 Continental United States (you know black folks are not going across the water), a wifey in the same city as them, having sex with them all, and yet be on Maury saying the baby ain’t his. Now the same goes for my generation of women. We will have an entire squad ready and “fuckable” if hubby act a fool and will be on Maury testing all twenty-five of them just to find out that none of the men tested is little ray-ray’s daddy. I write about relationships because I want to know what happened to the type of relationships our grandparents had. Now that was true black love. I’m not saying some of the things they endured (infidelity, outside children, abuse, etc) was right but those men and women fault hard and did right by honoring what a relationship/ marriage was.

I write about relationships because I would like to think that I am doing some growing. I’m not the same bitter and judgmental woman I was before. I used to think all a dude wanted was to hit and quit or be a low down cheating bastard (Yes, I love the word bastard that is my guilty pleasure). A few good male acquaintances have showed me otherwise. I used to not believe in my self worth and let what dudes told me about my standards define what I was looking for. All it took was for me to come across someone who didn’t mind uplifting me (thank you very much) and setting me straight so I no longer have these issues. Am I fully over these issues? No, but I’m not where I was and yes, it is hard when you have other people around you that continue to fill your head up with the same bull la la that you are trying to get rid of from your life. I write about relationships to speak to my future companion cause lord knows I am terrible at articulating my true thoughts and feelings, while sober (that was a smile moment). I write about relationships to say although I lack experience, I have the picture and I’m capable of navigating this ship. Most importantly I write about relationships because it’s my therapy.

About TrueSpeech

Hello World My Name is Rydell but you can call TrueSpeech. I am a young opinionated intellectual Imported from Detroit, here to present reality according to me. I love to voice my opinion and intelligently discuss and debate differing views with others whose views I respect. I speak as much Truth as possible and as raw as I can deliver because the truth should never be overcooked. These are my thoughts, this is my opinion.....this is my world. ~WELCOME TO REALITY ~

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

